In the footsteps of muleteers

This flexible itinerary offers you the possibility to hike for 4, 5, 6 days or more.
You will enjoy hiking 8 to 15 km per day, stopping every evening at a “table d'hôte” offering with very local products
Once your booking done, you will only have to take care of yourself.

Modular hike

For 4, 5 or 6 days, we suggest you to follow one of the four mule tracks in Ardèche, the “Ruoms - Pradelles road”, renovated by the association "Couleur Rando".

The itinerary:

From Chauzon, you leave for a hike of 8 to 12 km. You will first follow the river Ardèche on a shady path. At the time of picnic, you will have the opportunity to take a bath break very appreciable during the hot season. You will then continue your journey in the shade of the white oaks to a place called “Le Viel Audon”. On site you can stroll in the vegetable garden, go to meet the animals of the farm or enjoy a last swim.

On day 2, you will walk 12 km, getting closer to the Cevennes and discovering a different vegetation, argelas, boxwood, cades ... This vegetation is unique to the plateau des Gras, a very arid limestone plateau. Enjoy the view on the mountain Tanargue before reaching the village of Uzer. You will continue your journey through the vineyards to Largentière, before reaching the Mas des Faïsses for a well-deserved break.


The third day is a nice and short one, 8 kms walk!. From the Mas des Faïsses, you will walk up to the pass of “la Croix de Roure” trough chestnut trees and then down through gardens to reach the village of Joannas. Walking further through the forest, you will reach the “Gite de Jal”, at the foot of the small mountain called “Cham du Cros”.

Day 4: Different options are available.
Option 1
You can choose to walk around the Gite du Jal and visit Nelly’s garden, a small ecological unspoilt site where welcome and conviviality are cultivated like the natural garden. This option allows you to not pack and hike light for a day.


Option 2
You continue your journey to Sanilhac through the Tower of Brison located at 781 m above sea level from where you will enjoy an exceptional panoramic view (the tower is currently used as a lookout for monitoring forest fires). In Sanilhac, you will have the opportunity to sleep at Suzanne’s yurt or get picked-up by a truck.

During the last day, from Sanilhac, you will hike to the village of Largentière, old mining town. You will follow the old railway, closed in the 1980s when the mines closed, until Uzer. You will then climb on the “plateau des Gras de Chauzon” before walking down, back to the river and come and meet us at Carab'âne.

To consult the tarifs of the accommodations, click on the following buttons:

This hike is for experienced hikers.
You will walk 8 to 15 km per day.

To organize your hike, contact us. We will study together the best itinerary adapted to your request. The itinerary of this hike is flexible.

In the steep and mountainous regions of Southern Europe, mules transported goods until the 19th century. Inspired by the stories of Albin Mazon, in "Muletiers Vivarais and Velay", four roads have been identified and renovated for you to discover, through a hike, trade between the mountain and the valley.

The mules, at that time, were the means of transport and made it possible to carry goods from the Vivarais to the Velay. The muleteers transported at that time the wine from Ardèche valley to the mountain (it was said in addition that it improved it) and brought back down grains, lens in particular.

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now

Sur les pas des muletiers

Ce parcours modulable vous offre la possibilité de randonnée en itinérance sur 4, 5 , 6 jours ou plus.

Des étapes de 8 à 15 km par jours, avec chaque soir une table d’hôte garnie de produits très locaux (voir pour la majorité produit sur place).

Une fois que vous aurez réservé vous n'aurez plus qu'à vous occuper de vous.

Randonnée modulable 

Pour 4, 5 ou 6 jours, nous vous proposons d'emprunter une partie de l'un des quatre itinéraires muletier de l'Ardèche, la route Ruoms - Pradelles, remis au gout du jour par l'association "Couleur Rando" .

La randonnée:

Au départ de Chauzon vous partez pour un parcours de 8 à 12 km. Vous longerez tout d’abord l’Ardèche sur un chemin ombragé. Au moment du pique-nique vous pourrez vous accorder une pause baignade très appréciable lors des fortes chaleurs. Vous poursuivrez ensuite votre parcours à l’ombre des chênes blancs pour vous rendre au Viel Audon. Sur place vous pourrez flâner dans le potager, partir à la rencontre des animaux de la ferme ou profiter d’une dernière baignade.

Pour la deuxième étape vous découvrirez une végétation différente, cette fois ci place aux argelas, aux buis, aux cades… Cette végétation est propre au plateau des Gras, plateau calcaire très aride. Profitez de la vue sur le massif du Tanargue avant de rejoindre le village d’Uzer. Vous poursuivrez votre parcours à travers les vignes jusqu’à Largentière, puis vous rejoindrez le Mas des Faïsses pour une pause bien méritée. Etape d’environ 12 km qui vous rapproche des Cévennes.

Pour ce troisième jour nous vous proposons une petite journée. Depuis le Mas des Faïsses vous montez au col de la croix de Roure par les châtaigniers, vous redescendez par les jardins pour atteindre le village de Joannas puis vous poussez jusqu’au gite du Jal à travers bois. Vous voici au pied de la Cham du Cros. Etape très agréable d’environ 8km.

Jour 4 : Différentes possibilités s’offrent à vous.

Option 1

Vous pouvez choisir de vous promener autour du Gite du Jal en allant visiter le jardin de Nelly, petit écrin écologique où l’accueil et la convivialité sont cultivés comme le jardin au naturel. Cette option permet de ne pas refaire tout le paquetage et de voyager léger pour une journée.

Option 2

Vous poursuivez votre parcours jusqu’à Sanilhac en passant par la Tour de Brison située à 781 m d’altitude et privilégiant d’une vue panoramique exceptionnelle (la tour est d’ailleurs actuellement utilisée comme vigie pour la surveillance des incendies de forêt). Arrivée à Sanilhac vous aurez la possibilité de dormir dans une yourte, chez Suzanne ou de rentrer directement en camion.

Pour le dernier jour depuis Plan la Tour vous rejoignez le village de Largentière, ancienne cité minière. Vous suivrez l’ancienne voie de chemin de fer, fermée dans les années 1980 lors de la fermeture des mines, jusqu’à Uzer. Vous monterez ensuite sur le plateau des Gras de Chauzon puis vous regagnerez la rivière pour venir nous retrouver à Carab’âne.

Pour consulter les tarifs des hébergeurs cliquez sur les boutons suivants:

Cette randonnée s'adresse à un public de randonneurs .

Vous marcherez 8 à 15 km par étape.

Afin d'organiser au mieux votre randonnée, contactez nous. Nous étudierons ensemble le circuit le mieux adaptés à votre demande. Le circuit de cette randonnée est modulable.

Dans les régions escarpées et montagneuses de l'Europe du Sud, le transport des marchandises s'effectuait grâce à des mulets jusqu'au XIXème siècle. Inspirées des récits d'Albin Mazon, dans "Les Muletiers du Vivarais et du Velay" , quatre routes ont été identifiées et aménagées pour vous faire découvrir, le temps d'une randonnée, les échanges commerciaux entre la montagne et la vallée.  Les mules, à l'époque, étaient le moyen de transport de nos contrées, et permettaient de passer de la marchandise du Vivarais au Velay. Toujours à crète les muletiers transportaient des vallées Ardéchoise le vin, le montaient en montagne (il se disaient en plus que ça le bonifiait) et redescendaient des grains, en particulier de la  lentille.

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now